Tomorrow I’m flying to Michigan to visit my family for Labor Day weekend. I haven’t been back since 2010. I’m excited to see family and friends, but at the same time, it’s a different kind of homecoming.

The last time I was there, I had only been living in California for less than a year. I was still unsure on myself and the reasons why I moved to the West Coast. I was in flux. Some people I met let me down. I was working two retail jobs. I wasn’t writing as much. I didn’t know what I was doing.

Now, two years later, I have good, healthy relationships. I have a great writing job. I’m writing and published!

The Nu now is not the Nu then, but I had to be that Nu to be this Nu, get it? Haha.

In a few weeks, I’ll be heading to Haiti for my Faith Adventure Trip. I hope my trip home will give me some perspective on that “Nu” journey.

Michigan to do list:

Eat Chinese buffet.

Watch scary movie with brothers.

Catch up with parents.

Visit Grand Rapids/Allegan.

Stay off the computer/internet.

Be in the moment.

