In March, I entered a flash fiction contest at Everyday Fiction. Write a story in 250 words or less using at least four words from this list: EVENING-QUARRY-ACCENT-ROSE-TEAR-MINUTE-GRAVE-CLOSE-ENTRANCE-BOW and incorporate this quote as a theme: “I want to put a ding in the universe.” -Steve Jobs

Although my story didn’t place, it was named as a finalist out of more than 200 entries, so I’m still pretty proud of that honor! The best part is that I received a rejection at first, then the editor emailed me the next day saying it had been rejected by accident and that it was actually a finalist! Best rejection so far 😀

The winning stories are now posted at the website. Go ahead and check them out! I love writing using prompts. It kind of gives my imagination some fuel to get going. I also love seeing what other people write and reading their interpretations.

Even though I was named a finalist, it didn’t mean my story would get published, so I am sharing it here instead. It’s still one of my favorite pieces. Enjoy!

“Infinite” by Nu Yang
243 words

After dinner, Rose snuck out of the house. She climbed the large oak tree in the backyard, grabbing the sturdy branches and steadying her tennis shoes as she pulled herself up the tree trunk. She perched on a limb and stared up into the evening sky. Millions of stars twinkled back at her. Which one was her father?

Last month, her father, along with four other crew members, climbed into a shuttle and blasted off into space. He promised to return home with a handful of stardust just for her. Yes, she was thirteen-years-old, but she still believed in some magic.

“Rose?” Her mother stood at the foot of the tree and craned her neck up to look at her. “What are you doing?”

“I’m waiting for the meteor shower.” She checked her watch. Any minute now.

Her mother started to climb up to her. She was surprised to see how fast her mother moved.

“Mom!” She laughed as her mother joined her in the tree.

Her mother plopped down next to her. “Not bad, huh?” She wrapped an arm around her and pulled her close. She smelled like vanilla.

“You think Dad will be able to see the meteor shower too?” Rose asked.

Her mother lifted her gaze. “I think so.”

Rose looked up just as a silver light streaked across the darkness. “Did you see that?”

Her mother nodded, and Rose smiled as her father sprinkled stardust down on them.

