I graduated college ten years ago this month. I was a 21-year-old English major, ready to take on the world. Instead, I spent about seven months back home, but I wrote and wrote, even if it was in my parents’ basement. Then, I finally moved out on my own with a college friend and I worked several odd jobs, but I wrote and wrote in between. I found a job at a small, weekly newspaper and I wrote some more. I was accepted into the Odyssey Fantasy Writing Workshop and boy, did I write. I kept writing, working full-time at the newspaper and toward my Master’s degree in Writing Popular Fiction. When I graduated in 2009, I had a market-ready novel. Then, I moved from Michigan to California and despite the challenges, I wrote new stories and I even wrote my first full-length screenplay last year.

It’s hard to believe ten years has passed. Looking back, I accomplished so much during that time. I wrote several novels. I got published for the first time. I saw my name and story in an actual book. I got my first professional byline. I received my Master’s degree. I wrote a freaking movie!

What will my life look like in ten more years? Will I look back and say, “I was a 31-year-old magazine editor, ready to take on the world?”

I hope so.

