A month has passed since I last posted. A lot has changed. I moved into a new apartment. I got a new niece named Summer (congrats to my brother and sister-in-law) born on June 29. I bought a nice Nikon camera so I can start learning photography. I had a few stories published (check out my updated Publications page). My relationships with people are also changing. We’re all moving in different directions. Some things are ending, some things are beginning. It really hit me that this is a new year–a new season–for me.

Aug. 4 was my fourth anniversary of moving out to California. In those four years, I’ve done so much. I’ve learned so much. I’ve met people that have become very good friends and I’ve met people that I had to let go. All I know is that I’m not the same person who stepped off that plane four years ago.

In a week, I’ll be going back to Michigan for a visit. I’ll be visiting my new niece, my family, and my friends. I hope it’s something that will recharge me and give me some perspective. I think I’ve been looking inside for too long and I need to start looking outside again.

I finished that heavy metal horror story and I’m really proud of it. Unfortunately, it looks like the publisher that was going to print that anthology no longer exists. Still, I’ve sent the story out to a couple places now. I hope it finds a home soon.

I’m jotting down new story ideas. I’m frustrated that I can’t seem to focus on longer pieces, but the short stories are just coming at me, which is also good.

Anyway, I have to remember that my word for 2013 is ACTION! I’m making things happen for myself, no matter how big or small.

